Chronicles of Oklahoma

Skip Navigation

Electronic Publishing Center
Oklahoma Historical Society
Chronicles Homepage
Search all Volumes
Copyright 2001
Purchase an Issue

Table of Contents Index Volume List Search All Volumes Home

Chronicles of Oklahoma
Volume 20, No. 4
December, 1942

Page 317

For information of members and others, see following excerpts from the Constitution of the Oklahoma Historical Society:

Section 1. The officers of this Society shall be a president, two vice-presidents, a secretary, a treasurer and a board of twenty-five directors; the Governor shall be an ex-officio member of the Board of Directors.

Section 2. Five members of the Board of Directors to serve for a term of five years, or until their successors shall have been elected and qualified, shall be elected annually by ballot from members of the Society of the following manner: Between the first and tenth of January of each year the secretary and the treasurer shall prepare and have printed, at the expense of the Society, ballots containing under appropriate heading the names of the five directors whose terms will expire during that year, unless otherwise directed in writing by such directors, and also all names of such other members of the Soicety as may be petitioned thereto in writing to be filed with the secretary by the first day of each year by twenty-five of its members who at said time are entitled to vote on such matter. Such ballot shall be by the secretary duly mailed to the address of each member of the Society, who shall cross out or mark out all names on such ballot except such as he or she may desire to vote for, not to exceed five, and write his or her name on such ballot on the opposite side and then duly mail same to the secretary of the Oklahoma Historical Society at Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Provided, that any member duly qualified to vote may vote for any member of said Society, who is qualified to vote, by writing the name of such member on the ballot but in such manner as not to vote for more than five directors. On the fourth Tuesday in January, or as soon thereafter as practical, the President, a Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer shall meet and open said ballots, counting same and retaining the envelopes and ballots in a safe place until the next regular quarterly meeting of said Board of Directors, when said ballots, together with the envelopes and the result of said canvass shall be delivered with proper certificate to said board and said board of directors at said meeting, or an adjourned session thereof, shall declare the five receiving the highest vote as elected directors of said Society. (As amended January 29, 1931.)

Return to top

Electronic Publishing Center | OSU Home | Search this Site